YOU EVIL, EVIL, EVILLL EMOTION STEALING THIEF

Correct me if I am wrong, and I very well might be! But, when writing a book review shouldn’t the writer avoid major or even minor spoilers at all cost?

Today I was browsing book reviews on WordPress and I went into a book review to see that the reviewer was screaming some of the book’s main spoilers!!! Literally, in big cap letters!! Luckily, I had already read the book! I feel spoilers should be left for book discussions (which I feel are very different from a review) or there should at least be a warning given that the content contains spoilers! It is easy to state in the title box or the first sentence of the post *BOOK DISCUSSION/REVIEW SPOILERS AHEAD*! I feel I can very easily write a review of a book without giving away the twist and turns and all the while promote excitement that someone would need to want to read it. I feel a review is just that. Reviewing and evaluating your thoughts on the book as a whole and it’s quality, not telling me it’s secrets!! Imagine how you felt when that awesome amazing twist happened. Excited!! Relieved!! Surprised!!! Overjoyed!! If you already knew about it before it happened, would you have had the same reaction? I doubt it. So, if you leak a spoiler in a review, you have just robbed me of all those amazing, beautiful, raw emotions. You’re a thief!!! An emotion robbing thief!! This may seem like a bit of an exaggeration to some, I get that. But, for me and many others I have talked to, who feel emotionally dead outside of the feelings our children bring us, these feelings and emotions that our books bring us are all we have!! Sad, I know. And I need therapy hahaha I get it. But, until that time, this is it! Stop stealing my emotions! The simple solution is for me to forever give up book reviews till after I have read the book. This is a huge possibility! But, this thought makes me sad. Some of you out there are SO awesome at writing book reviews. This helps me decide my next emotional fix! I think I am suffering from some kind of spoiler phobia now….

One thought on “YOU EVIL, EVIL, EVILLL EMOTION STEALING THIEF

Leave a comment